Toggle Page


IMG-13.near-jetty-Don-Foch-SMALLLord Howe Island is administered by the Lord Howe Island Board, a NSW Statutory Authority established under the Lord Howe Island Act in 1953, which gives a high level of self-governance to the community.

The Board reports directly to the NSW Minister for Environment and is charged with the care, control and management of the island.

The Board comprises of seven members, four of whom are appointed by the island community, with the remaining three members elected by the Minister to represent the interests of business, tourism and conservation.

For more information on the Lord Howe Island Board, visit